Visions In Education Recognized With Technology Pivotal Practice Award!

The California Department of Education recognized Visions with a Pivotal Practice Award in the Distribution of Technology category. The Pivotal Practice Program was created to recognize schools and districts who rose to the challenges of the pandemic and continued to provide excellent services to their students. Visions was one of only four schools in Sacramento County and the only school in its authorizing district of San Juan Unified to be recognized by the state in this capacity.

“I’m incredibly proud of these schools and districts for their creativity, dedication, and innovation in the face of adversity,” Thurmond said in a press release announcing the award winners.

“Technology education has been a cornerstone of Visions In Education’s success for more than twenty years,” says Tom Tafoya, Visions’ Chief Operations Officer. “When the pandemic hit in 2020, Visions was able to transition to a fully remote model of education and work with minimal disruption to our students. We were able to take what we’ve learned from years of experience and share it with other schools to help them serve their students as well.” 

Part of this process was developing new ways of connecting students with technology to ensure minimal loss of learning. This was only possible due to the hard work and creativity of our staff, especially our Student Technology Services (STS) team and LPAD Student Support System programming team, who quickly adapted to a tumultuous situation. Thanks to their dedicated work, creative problem solving, and flexible solutions, our students were able to continue learning throughout the pandemic. 

Thank You!

A big thank you to all the staff that came together to make this happen! Thanks to the STS Team, (headed by Brandon Neal and supported by Ahmed Alogaidi, Najee Burnette, Brandon Fan, Manny Morteo, Connor Puckett, Blake Sims, James Umiker, and Wellington Wong) and our LPAD SSS programming team (Michael Miller, Francois Tcha, Yamin Noor, Tony Cervo, Matthew Mueller) for ensuring that our students have top-notch technology support.

Thanks also to Justina Janas, Ben Drahmann, Mike Brubaker, Uriel Gonzalez, Soren Gutierrez and Carl Sorenson, who all helped with the award submission!